Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (Vidhwa Pension Yojana)

Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS) as part of the National Social Assistance Program (NSAP).

In 2009 Govt of India approved the scheme for pension to widows (BPL) below the poverty line in the age group of 40 years to 64 years.

The scheme was named an IGNWPS-Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme.

IGNWPS Vidhwa Pension Yojana Details:

Organization Name: Department of Rural Development

Program: National Social Assistance Program (NSAP)

Scheme Name: Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (Vidhwa Pension Yojana)


Address: National Social Assistance Program Division, Krishi Bhawan, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Marg, New Delhi-110 114

Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme

Eligibility Criteria for Widow Pension Scheme:

For the purpose of claiming central assistance, the following Eligibility criteria shall apply.

  1. The age of the widow (Vidhwa) shall be between 40 to 64 years. After the age of 80 years, the widow will get Rs.500/- PM.
  2. The applicants must belong to a BPL (below the poverty line).

Amount of Pension:

The central assistance under IGNWPS will be provided at the rate of Rs. 300 Per Month.

Age Group Amount
40 years Rs. 300/-
80 years and above Rs. 500/-

Required Documents:

The documents that are required to apply for this scheme are as follows.

  • Aadhar card
  • Age proof
  • BPL card
  • Husband’s Death Certificate
  • 3 Passport size photos
  • Residence proof
  • Account details

How to Apply for Widow Pension Scheme?

  1. Log on to the website
  2. Download the application Form
  3. Enter the required details
  4. Submit the form

Note: Once all the details are entered, the applicant has to submit the form to the Commissioner Municipal Corporation.

Sanction of Pension:

The sanction of pension to a beneficiary has to be made only after placing the data of the beneficiary on the official website of the Ministry or State.

Mode of Payment:

The pension is to be credited into a post office, electronic money order, or bank account of the beneficiary. The mode of monthly disbursement of pensions is made on the basis of the convenience of the beneficiaries.

Identification of Beneficiary:

The Gram Panchayat or Municipalities are expected to play an active role in the identification of beneficiaries under the scheme.

Certificate of Coverage:

The States or Union territories are required to furnish a certificate that all eligible widows have been covered under Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (Vidhwa Pension Yojana).

A number of Eligible Beneficiaries under IGNWPS:

The number of eligible beneficiaries to be assisted under IGNWPS will be determined as per the field report of all the beneficiaries who satisfy the eligibility criteria

Allocation of Funds:

The funds for the operation of the schemes relating to IGNOAPS, IGNDPS, IGNWPS, and the National Family Benefit Scheme as part of the National Assistance Program and Annapurna will continue to be released in a combined manner.

Discontinuation of Pension:

Pension will be discontinued in the following case:

  1. In case of remarriage
  2. Once the widows move above the poverty line

Every beneficiary under this scheme of NSAP will get a Pension Passbook. The Pension Passbook contains complete details of the sanction order and disbursement details.

Visit Here for More Details about IGNWPS (Vidhwa Pension Yojana)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *