Who is the Present (CM) Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh State?

About Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Jai Ram Thakur is the 6th and the present Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.

Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Details:

Name: Jai Ram Thakur

From: 27th December 2017

Number: 14th CM of HP(List wise)

Political Party Name: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

State: Himachal Pradesh  (Northern Indian State)

Official Website: www.himachal.gov.in

Email: cm-hp@nic.in

Phone: +91-177 – 2625400, 2625819

Fax: +91-177-2621154, 2625011

Address: Armsdale Building, HP Secretariat, Shimla-171002.

About Jai Ram Thakur:

Jai Ram Thakur is an Indian politician born in 1965 in Tandi village, he is the 14th and the current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.

He was elected as BJP legislative party leader on 24 December 2017 after the defeat of Chief Ministerial candidate of BJP, Prem Kumar Dhumal in the assembly elections held in November 2017.

Education Qualifications:

  • B.A from Vallabh Govt. Degree College Mandi, H.P
  • Graduation(M.A.) from Panjab University, Chandigarh

Political Career of Jai Ram Thakur:

  • Ram Thakur started his political career as a member and youth leader of ABVP from Vallabh Govt. College.
  • He served as Joint Secretary, Organizing Secretary, State Secretary and President of State BJP Yuva Morcha(1986 to 2003).
  • Later he was appointed as Vice President and then President of BJP From Himachal (2003–09).
  • Thakur also served as Chairman of General Development Committee & Education Committee and Vice-Chairman of State Civil Supplies Corporation.
  • he was the Member of various Housing Committees and also served as a Cabinet Minister.
  • From 2009 to 2012 He was the Minister of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj in Himachal
  • In 2017 he was selected as CM Candidate over Prem Kumar Dhumal.

List of Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh:

S. No. CM’s Name Constituency Time period
1. Yashwant Singh Parmar Renuka 1952 to 1977
2. Thakur Ram Lal Jubbal Kotkhai 28 Jan 1977 to 30 Apr 1977
3. President’s rule 30 Apr 1977 to 22 June 1977
4. Shanta Kumar Sullah 1977 to 1980
5. Thakur Ram Lal Jubbal Kotkhai 1980 to 1983
6. Virbhadra Singh Jubbal Kotkhai 1983 to 1990
7. Shanta Kumar Palampur 1990 to 1992
8. President’s rule 15 Dec 1992 to 3 Dec 1993
9. Virbhadra Singh Rohru 1993 to 1998
10. Prem Kumar Dhumal Bamsan 1998 to 2003
11. Virbhadra Singh Rohru 2003 to 2007
12. Prem Kumar Dhumal Bamsan 2007 to 2012
13. Virbhadra Singh Shimla Rural 2012 to 2017
14. Jai Ram Thakur Seraj From 27 Dec to Present


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *