Who is the Present Chief Minister (CM) of Assam State?

Himanta Biswa Sarma is the 15th and Present Chief Minister of Assam. The Chief Minister of Assam is the head of government in the Indian state of Assam. The Chief Minister heads the council of ministers, who are collectively responsible for the state’s legislative assembly.

Chief Minister of Assam Details:

Name: Himanta Biswa Sarma

From: 10 May 2021

Political Party Name: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

State: Assam State (South East)

Official Website: assam.gov.in

Phone Number: +91-361-2262222/ 2237043 /2262069

Email ID: cm@assam.gov.in

About Himanta Biswa Sarma:

Himanta Biswa Sarma is an Indian politician, born in the year 1969, in Ulubari, Guwahati.

Education Qualifications:

  • Post-graduation in Political Science,
  • L.L.B. degree from Government Law College,
  • Ph.D. degree from Gauhati University.

Political Career:

  • Sarma started his political career as a member of the Assam Legislative Assembly from Jalukbari in 2001.
  • He later served as Minister of State for Agriculture, Planning, and Development, Finance, Health, Education, and Assam Accord Implementation from 2002 to 2014.
  • After some internal problems, he resigned from all positions in 2014. And also he resigned as a Member of the Assembly in 2015.
  • In 2015 he Joined BJP, and he was appointed as the party’s Convener of Election Management.
  • He was later appointed to different Ministries like Finance, Health & Family Welfare, Education, Planning & Development, Tourism, Pension & Public Grievances.
  • In 2021 he got the ticket For CM Candidate and was able to secure his seat.

List of Chief Minister of Assam

List of Chief Ministers of Assam:

S. No.

CM’s Name Constituency Time Period Party
1. Gopinath Bordoloi Kamrup Sadar 26th Jan 1950 – 6th Aug 1950 (less than a year) Indian National Congress (INC)
2. Bishnuram Medhi Hajo 9th Aug 1950 – 27th Dec 1957 (more than 7 years) Indian National Congress (INC)
3. Bimala Prasad Chaliha Badarpur and Sonari 28th Dec 1957 – 6th Nov 1970 (more than 12 years) Indian National Congress (INC)
4. Mahendra Mohan Choudhry Guwahati East 11th Nov 1970 – 30 Jan 1972 (more than a year) Indian National Congress (INC)
5. Sarat Chandra Singha Bilasipara East 31st Jan 1972 – 12th Mar 1978 (more than 6 years) Indian National Congress (INC)
6. Golap Borbora Tinsukia 12th Mar 1978 – 4th Sep 1979 (more than a year) Janata Party
7. Jogendra Nath Hazarika Duliajan 9th Sep 1979 – 11th Dec 1979 (less than a year) Janata Party
8. President’s Rule N/A 12th Dec 1979 – 5th Dec 1980 (359 days) N/A
9. Anwara Taimur Dalgaon 6th Dec 1980 – 30th June 1981 (less than a year) Indian National Congress (INC)
10. President’s Rule NA 30th Jun 1981 – 13th Jan 1982 (197 days) N/A
11. Kesab Chandra Gogoi Dibrugarh 13th Jan 1982 – 19th Mar 1982 (less than a year) Indian National Congress (INC)
12. President’s Rule N/A 19th Mar 1982 – 27th Feb 1983 (345 days) N/A
13. Hiteswar Saikia Nazira 27th Feb 1983 – 23rd Dec 1985 (more than  2 years) Indian National Congress (INC)
14. Prafulla Kumar Mahanta Nowgong 24th Dec 1985 – 28th Nov 1990 (more than 4 years) Asom Gana Parishad
15. President’s Rule N/A 28th Nov 1990 – 30th June 1991 (214 days) N/A
16. Hiteswar Saikia Nazira 30th June 1991 – 22nd Apr 1996 (more than 4 years) Indian National Congress (INC)
17. Bhumidhar Barman Barkhetry 22 Apr 1996 to 14 May 1996 (22-days) Indian National Congress (INC)
18. Prafulla Kumar Mahanta Barhampur 15th May 1996 – 17th May 2001 (5 years) Asom Gana Parishad
19. Tarun Gogoi Titabar 18th May 2001 – 24th May 2016 (15 years) Indian National Congress (INC)
20. Sarbananda Sonowal Majuli 24 May 2016 – 10 May 2021 (more than 4 years) Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
21 Himanta Biswa Sarma Jalukbari 10th May 2021 to Present Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *