Who is the Present (CM) Chief Minister of Telangana State

KCR is the first and present Chief Minister of Telangana State Since 2014.

chief minister of telangana


About Chief Minister of Telangana:

Name: Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao (KCR)

From: 2nd June 2014

Number: 1st CM of Telangana State

Political Party Name: (TRS) Telangana Rashtra Samithi

State: Telangana State (South)

Official Website: https://cm.telangana.gov.in

Phone Number: 040-23452933 ; 23455205 ; 23456698 ;

Fax: 23452498


About Chandrashekar Rao:

K. Chandrashekar Rao is the 1st chief minister of Telangana State of the (TRS) Telangana Rashtra Samithi.

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) born on 17th February 1954 (17-02-1954) in Chintamadaka village, Siddipet, Medak District.

Education Qualifications:

Master’s degree in Telugu Literature from Arts College-Osmania University, Hyderabad.

Political Career of Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao(KCR):

  • His political journey started as a member of the Youth Congress from Medak district in 1970.
  • Later KCR joined the TDP in 1983. He was a member of the AP Assembly from 1985 to 2004.
  • He served as a Cabinet Minister during 1997-99 and also served as Deputy Speaker of AP Assembly during 1999-2001.
  • In 2001, KCR resigned from the Deputy Speaker and MLA positions and also quit TDP at the same time.
  • After that launched Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) with the sole objective of realizing Statehood of the Telangana region.
  • In 2004, KCR became a Member of Parliament from Karimnagar Loksabha Constituency and became a Cabinet Minister
    Later resigned from Union Cabinet in 2006 because of the ongoing issue of separation.
  • In November 2009, he undertook fast unto death demanding the creation of Telangana State.
  • After a prolonged agitation, the Union government finally granted the Statehood to the Telangana region and passed the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2013 in both the Houses of Parliament in 2014, for the creation of Telangana State.
  • In the 2014 elections, TRS emerged victorious in Assembly seats. And Become the first party to govern the new state.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *