Apply NSIGSE Scholarship Scheme for Girl Child 2023

Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidyalaya launched the NSIGSE scheme in 2004 and it was encouraging. Central Government proposes to provide a further incentive to the girl child who passes the 8th class examination and enrolls in secondary school.

A sum of Rs.3000 will be deposited in her name, and she would be entitled to withdraw it upon reaching 18 years of age. The central government has taken this important step to promote the girl child’s enrollment of 14 to 18 years age group at the secondary stage, who passes 8th class and subsequently drop out for various socio-economic reasons.

The proposed scheme is further intended to retain such girl children up to the 12th class. In the year 2004-05, the dropout rate of girls from classes 1st to 8th class was about 50.8%. For classes 1st to 10th dropout rate of girls was about 64% in the same year. Hence, only 36% of the country’s girl students could be retained up to class 10th.

This is the combined result of several socio-economic factors, but a major contributor is no doubt the inability of the parents to afford the cost of education of a girl child.

The main objective of the national scheme of incentives to girls for secondary education (NSIGSE) is to reduce the dropout rate and promote the enrollment of students belonging to SC/ST category in secondary schools and ensures their retention up to 18 years of age.

In addition, the NSIGSE scholarship scheme is made applicable to the girls, who pass class 8th from Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidyalaya irrespective of their caste or tribe. 1% of the total incentive amount each year will be spent on administration, monitoring, and evaluation.

There would be no restriction based on income criteria from the grant of incentives to girls, because SC/ST girls passing out from KGBVs and studying in government, government-aided, and private schools would generally be from a disadvantaged section of society.

Every implementing school may prepare a proposal for the release of the amount of incentive after properly examining the eligibility criteria and submitting it to the State Government/ Union Territories through proper channels.

The number of eligible schools proposed to be covered under the scheme and the number of girl students of SC/ST communities and non-SC/ST girls who pass class 8th examination from KGBVs who are entitled to the benefit of the NSIGSE scholarship scheme.

NSIGSE Scholarship

NSIGSE Scholarship Scheme Details:

Organization: The Department of Higher Education

Scholarship Name: National Scheme of Incentive to Girls for Secondary Education (NSIGSE)

Official Portal:

Academic Year: 2022-23

Scholarship Amount: Rs.3000/-

Eligibility Criteria for NSIGSE:

  • All schedule caste /schedule tribe girl students who pass 8th class.
  • Students who pass the 8th class examination from Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidyalaya and enroll for the 9th class in Government recognized or private schools.
  • Married girls, will be excluded from the NSIGSE scholarship scheme.
  • Girl children studying in any private school are proposed to be excluded since the majority of such schools charge high fees and therefore, parents of such girl students may not require the financial assistance that is being offered under this scheme.
  • Students enrolled in schools run by the central government are also being executed from the scheme, as these children are either fully provided for already, or those of central government employees, who can afford the education of their children, without further support.
  • The girl child receiving incentive through NSIGSE may be entitled to draw the amount on the attainment of 18 years of age.
  • The amount of incentive may be transferred to the central government’s account in the unfortunate event of the death of the student before attaining the age of 18 years.
  • To be eligible for the benefit under the NSIGSE scholarship scheme the girl should be unmarried and should be below 16 years of age upon joining class 9th.

Scholarship Amount:

The amount of incentive may be released to the State/UT government for depositing, the same in favor of the eligible girls. It’s a centrally sponsored scholarship scheme for SC/ST students who pass the VIII standards.

An amount of Rs.3,000/- (Rupees Three Thousand) would be deposited under term deposit/ fixed deposit in a public sector bank in the name of every eligible student.

The term/ period of the deposit may be attained from the date of deposit to the date on which the girl child attains the age of 18 years. No premature withdrawal will be allowed.

Age Limit:

Below 16 years of age.

NSIGE Scholarship Scheme

Release of Grant:

The application will be verified particularly with reference to a birth certificate issued by the school head based on enrollment record. An account will be opened in the name of the beneficiary in the nearest public sector bank.

The amount is deposited in a fixed-term deposit. A passbook or a certificate would be given to the student, which will also identify her as a beneficiary of the scheme.

The beneficiary will have to continue her study at least for 2 years in the secondary school after her enrollment in class 9th in order to avail of the benefit under the scheme.

The principal of the school will furnish a certificate to this effect. To be eligible to draw the matured amount a pre-condition would be for the beneficiary to pass the class 10th board examination successfully.

On attaining 18 years of age and production of 10th class pass certificate and a certificate from the head of the school that the girl beneficiary has continued her study for at least 2 years after enrollment in class 9th.

The implementing agency will authorize the bank to transfer the matured amount in the interest-bearing account to the savings account in the name of the girl beneficiary.

Wide publicity would be planned to familiarize the scholarship scheme’s intended beneficiaries. The scholarship scheme will be rigorously evaluated after 2 years through appropriate independent agencies in order to further improve the same in the future.

The last date to submit the application online is 30th November 2020 and the printout application forms are to be verified at the School and District level.

How to Apply for NSIGSE Scholarship Online?

Students under this NSIGSE scheme need to apply online on the official website and also submit a printed copy of the application form to the concerned department.

Documents Needed:

  • Photograph
  • Aadhaar Card
  • Bonafide Certificate
  • Mark Sheet
  • Bank Statement
  • Caste Certificate

Last Date:

15-12-2022 is the last date to apply online

Visit Here to Apply NSIGSE Scholarship Online
Visit Here for NSIGSE Scholarship Guidelines

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *