Apply National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme (NMMSS) 2024

National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme (NMMSS) provides 100,000 scholarships to meritorious candidates whose parental annual income is below Rs 3,50,000/-. Each State/Union Territory shall have a fixed scholarship quota which will be given based on enrollment of candidates in the 7th and 8th Class.

This scholarship scheme would provide reservations to students of different categories as per the State/ Union Territory norms. The grant will be offered quarterly to the candidates studying as regular in class 9th in Govt. local body and Govt. aided schools.

Out of the total scholarships, each State/Union Territory will be allocated a fixed quota of scholarships based on the enrollment of students. States/Union Territories are already conducting the exam for nominating the candidates for the national level examination conducted by the National Council of Educational Research and Training.

National Means-cum-Merit Exam:

The same exam shall be used for the selection of students for the award of National Means-cum-Merit Scholarships. The state-level exam may consist of 2 tests one is MAT (Mental Ability Test) and another is (SAT) Scholastic Aptitude Test. The time duration for each test is 90 minutes (Extra time will be given for disabled students).

MAT (Mental Ability Test):MAT may consist of 90 (Ninety) multiple-choice questions like reasoning and critical thinking.
SAT (Scholastic Aptitude Test): SAT also consists of 90 (Ninety) multiple-choice questions in subjects like science, social, and math areas taught in 7th and 8th classes.

National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship

NMMSS Scheme Details:

Organization Name: Department of School Education

Scheme Name: National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme (NMMSS)

Official Website:

Last Date: 11th January 2024

Email Address:

Phone Number: 0120 6619540

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Candidates must pass both tests.
  • The parental annual income of the students should not exceed Rs 3,50,000/- (One Lakhs and Fifty Thousand) from all sources.
  • Students should not be absent without proper leave and cannot take up any job.
  • Applicant must get a clear promotion from 8th class to 9th Class.
  • For Secondary & Higher Secondary stage classes 9th to 12th the scholarship is payable for a maximum duration of 4 years to study in India only.
  • Students must clear the IX to X class and from XI to XII class on the 1st attempt with at least 55% marks to continue the scholarship scheme.
  • The student should obtain a minimum of 60% marks in the 10th Class examination for continuation of the scholarship scheme at the higher secondary stage.

Scholarship Amount:

The scholarship amount is proposed to be Rs. 12000/- per annum (Rs.1000/- per month).

Selection Process:

  1. The candidates must pass both the tests Mental Ability Test and Scholastic Aptitude Test with a minimum of 40% marks on each test.
  2. The parental annual income of the students should not exceed Rs 1,50,000/- (One Lakhs and Fifty Thousand) from all sources.
  3. Students must have scored a minimum of 55% marks in the Class 8th examination.
  4. Candidates can avail of only 1 Scholarship under any scheme.
  5. The students have to open a Joint account with parents in any SBI. Wherever State Bank of India does not have its branches in their location then students need to open an account in any other public sector bank which has an ECS facility.

How to Apply NMMS Online?

Eligible students may visit the NSP’s official website and apply National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme online on or before the last date.

Last Date:

11th January 2024 is the last date to apply online.

Important Links:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *